Welcome to Meridian Yacht Owners!

Welcome to the worlds largest Meridian Yacht Owners Forum

MYO is a boating forum for Meridian Yacht owners to enthusiastically discuss all aspects of Meridian Yacht ownership.

Register today... it's free!





Dismiss Notice
Welcome to the new forum! Please take a moment to login and get to know our new digs!
Dismiss Notice
The mobile view issues should now be resolved!

Installation of Cablemaster System

Discussion in 'General Repairs & Maintenance' started by Madrona, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. Madrona

    Madrona First Mate

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tacoma, Wa
    We are planning to install the Glendenning Power cord system in our 411. Has anyone done this before? It appears there is enough space to store a 50', 50-amp cord with the power reel system in the lazarette. The project will take a little engineering but when it's done I can extend the cord to the length that is necessary easily. Appreciate thoughts and suggestions. thks
     
  2. shelbri

    shelbri Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Mystic, CT
    I didn't do the install but our boat has the glendenning unit in the port side lazarrette. We have a small barrel that the cord falls into when wrapped up. Excellent system. I am sure it is worth the effort to install as the anaconda 50A cord is heavy and pain to deal with manually.
     
  3. BreakAway

    BreakAway Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Seattle
    A very knowledgeable guy told us to ditch the 50 amp cord except over the winter and we did. We use the boat as an office over the winter and need the 50, but in the spring and summer we rarely need a/c and we can run the a/c and just not run the microwave at the same time. So for us a little power management keeps that anaconda down below. Plus 50 amps is a major pain in many Canadian marinas.
     
  4. heron381

    heron381 Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Sturgeon Bay, WI.
    We draw less power than the 411 but it is close, gave my 50 amp cord to my friend who has a 50 ft. boat with 4 AC's, he really needs it. With 1 AC off and the hot water heater off when we cook,, we live a normal life on the boat, tripped the circuit breaker at the dock once last year. Didn't mind getting up to reset it, easier than dragging that monster cord out at every visited marina. IMHO
    Add and inexpensive 50-30amp pigtail adapter to your newly purchase light weight 30 amp cord and you are good to go. ;)
     
  5. folieadeux

    folieadeux Admiral

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,101
    Likes Received:
    202
    Location:
    Savannah,GA
    Vessel Details:
    2006-391 Meridian with Cummins 380QSB
    Not to steal this thread....but I just sold my Regal EC when I bought the 391 Meridian and I have lots of 30AMP cords leftover from the Regal, I had planned to sell them but if I read this thread correctly, I can use the 30AMP cords with the 50AMP adapter....is that correct???
     
  6. rbatt2

    rbatt2 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,912
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Vessel Details:
    Current: 2013 441SB w/480 Zeus
    Former: 2006 408MY w/ Cummins 370B; 2005 368MY w/8.1HO
    Neal - yes, you are correct. You can use a 50A to 30A pigtail and a single 30A cordset or get a 50A to 30A "Y" adapter and use two 30A cordsets. Using one 30A cord obviously brings 30 AMPS of power to the boat. Using two 30A cords will give you 60 AMPS of power. That is usually sufficient but is still less than using the 50A cordset that came with the boat which delivers 50 AMPS to each side of your panel for a total of 100 AMPS.
     
  7. tic

    tic Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    18
    We didn't have 50 amp service at our slip last fall for our 368 so we used a Y connector for two thirties at the power box.. I think we tripped the breaker at the box ONCE when the microwave/air conditioning (all three units) and various other things were running at the same time. Once we figured out what we could and could not run, we had no problems and very little inconvenience.. This summer we will have 50 amp service in a longer slip. But I agree the anaconda is a royal PITA.
     
  8. jimfilling

    jimfilling First Mate

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Middle River, Chesapeake Bay Maryland
    I split our 50 amp cord into two 25' sections. Much lighter and stores in the box on the swim platform. ( Store the second 25' under the aft bed) I have not had to pull out the second 25 feet in two years of running on the Chesapeake Bay. 368 won't take a cablemaster which is what I wanted so this was the second best solution. I keep one 50 amp cord permanently at our home slip and pull out a "travel" 50 amp whenever we visit another marina. Works Great...much to my surprise. Jim
     
  9. folieadeux

    folieadeux Admiral

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,101
    Likes Received:
    202
    Location:
    Savannah,GA
    Vessel Details:
    2006-391 Meridian with Cummins 380QSB
    Ray, I just need the pigtail adapters on both ends of the 30 AMP cord, right?
     
  10. BreakAway

    BreakAway Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Seattle
    just fyi sometimes I have found some real good buys on ebay for connectors etc but be carefull to get the right ones
     
  11. Ocean Spray II

    Ocean Spray II Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sarasota, Fl.
    If you live in a warm climate (Florida) where its always HOT out, you will want to use your 50 amp cord. I have burned out 2 50amp converter cords (50 to 2 30) because the a/c will pull too much and burn out the y adapter. Mine lasted about 8 months before they burned out, then I had the marina change the box to a 50 amp plug and all was fine. The y adapters are good in a pinch while staying a a marina for the weekend but I would not recommend them for long term use. I learned the hard way!
     
  12. tic

    tic Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    18
    Good to know Pat.. thanks .. those adapters aren't cheap! I think ours was around 400 bucks
     
  13. rbatt2

    rbatt2 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,912
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Vessel Details:
    Current: 2013 441SB w/480 Zeus
    Former: 2006 408MY w/ Cummins 370B; 2005 368MY w/8.1HO
    What service do you have at the dock - single 50A, single 30A, twin 30A or both 30A and 50A?
     
  14. Joreet

    Joreet Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    San Diego
    I have 50 amp service & the glendeling cabel master, since I dock bow in I find the big cable to be a pain.
    Solution, I bought an additional 50' ft 50 amp cable & leave it pluged in & streched out on the dock when we come back to the marina I only have to reel out about 10' of cable from the cabelmaster & plug into the end of the 50' cord on the dock.
    A little pricey for the additional cable but it works for me.
    Jordan
     
  15. DSobba

    DSobba First Mate

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fox Island, WA
    Jeff,

    We had the Glendinning installed on our 411 when we purchased it and included the 50amp cord. There is a spot for it on the port side in the lazarette. I would agree that the cord is pretty bulky but not bad with the cablemaster. I would always rather have too much power than wish I would have had more. Kevin over at Breakwater Marina did the install. They were ok, not horrible but not great either. Feel free to give me a call on my cell if you would like to discuss more. The number is 253.232.5781.
    Thanks,
    Danny
     
  16. Boy N Sea

    Boy N Sea Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Port Moody, BC
    I've only been to two marinas that provided 50 amp 120\240 service that allowed me to plug in directly with my cable (BTW Breakaway, both in Canada none in the US). That said, my boat came with the Glenndinning installed (port side transom) and I love it...I'd hate to handle that 50AMP cable by hand.

    Though most marinas in our area and the ones I have visited in the US only offer 30 amp service, occasionaly I can use my reverse y and get 2 - 30 amp circuits which makes having the 50 amp cordset and glenndinning very handy.

    I do carry a 30 amp cord set so if there is only one 30 amp outlet available and the outlet is more than a few feet from the swim grid I'll use the 50 to 30 pigtail at the dockside and pay out the lighter weight cordset to the outlet.
     

Share This Page